Skip to main content

Assemblymember Grayson Issues Statement on Governor Newsom’s Proposed 2019-20 Budget

For immediate release:

(SACRAMENTO, CA) – Assemblymember Timothy S. Grayson (D-Concord) issued the following statement in response to Governor Newsom’s proposed 2019-2020 State Budget:

“I applaud the governor for proposing major investments where California needs it most: addressing our dire housing crisis, paying down unfunded liabilities, and saving for our future. It is unacceptable that there are people in my district and across California who work hard to provide for themselves and their families, but are still facing fears of being priced out of their communities. I applaud Governor Newsom’s commitment to addressing our housing crisis, including a proposed investment of over $1 billion to spur housing development and an additional $500 million specifically dedicated to increasing moderate-income housing to help middle-class workers and families afford to stay in the state that they call home.”

Highlighting the importance of continuing to build a solid fiscal foundation Grayson continued, “We owe it to the residents of our state to make sure that we are preparing for our future and making fiscally responsible decisions while our state is enjoying budgetary surpluses. Last year I fought to make funding our reserves a top priority of the budget and I am glad to see that Governor Newsom is committed to continuing to prepare for the inevitable rainy day. We know that even a moderate recession could far exceed current savings and projections, which is why I will continue to work with the governor’s office to set aggressive savings targets. I look forward to reviewing the entire proposal in detail and working with my colleagues to ensure our final budget is fiscally responsible and positions our state for success in the future.”

Governor Newsom’s 2019-2020 complete State Budget Proposal can be found here.

Tim Grayson represents the 14th Assembly District that includes the communities of Benicia, Concord, Clayton, Martinez, Pleasant Hill, Vallejo, Pittsburg and Walnut Creek. For more information please visit the Assemblymember’s website,